Scroll to top

What Can Reopen in the Red Tier?

“Because, ultimately, we’re in the red right now,” she said, “but in just a few weeks, we’ll probably, most likely be in the orange.”

Even Barbara Ferrer, director of public health for Los Angeles County — known for her dire warnings as Los Angeles became the epicenter of the winter crisis — struck a somewhat optimistic tone on Tuesday in her office’s update.

“L.A. County is very close to meeting the metric thresholds for the less restrictive red tier,” she said in a statement.

But perhaps you’ve gotten a little fuzzy about what this all means. Here are the answers to your questions:

Which counties are in the red tier now? And how can I find out which tier my county falls under?

There are 16 counties now in the red tier: Del Norte, Modoc, Humboldt, Trinity, Shasta, Lassen, Plumas, Marin, Napa, Yolo, El Dorado, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Mariposa and San Luis Obispo Counties.

Two counties are in the even less restrictive orange tier — Sierra and Alpine Counties — and the rest, including most of the state’s most populous counties, are still in the purple tier, as of Tuesday.

You can see where your county falls here.

What is allowed in the red tier?

The most significant difference between the purple and red tiers is that in the red tier, restaurants, museums and movie theaters can reopen indoors, at 25 percent capacity or 100 people — whichever is fewer. Gyms can reopen indoors at 10 percent capacity. (In the purple tier, all of those are allowed to operate outdoors only.)

Bars and breweries — businesses that serve alcohol but not food — must remain closed. In both the purple and red tiers, though, wineries can operate outdoors only.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *